Public Health


A Moral and Ethical Lifestyle

Today yoga has become a popular form of callisthenics contributing to the health and fitness of millions. However, earlier yoga was viewed as a complete lifestyle. The first two limbs of Patanajali's Asthanga yoga, moral and ethical restraints and observances have always been considered the foundation for success in yoga.

The Eight Limbs of Yoga

"Patanjali defines yoga as" Yoga Chitta Vritti Nirodha "- Yoga is the cessation of mental fluctuations." Hence, yoga can be defined as a state of complete stillness of mind. To achieve this goal, Patanjali prescribes the eight limbs or stagesevery practitioner must master. Today, Ashtanga yoga (which means 'eight-limbedyoga') is sometimes thought to be a particular style or series of postures. Butthese are really the eight stages described by Patanjali.They are:

Yama (moral restraints)

Niyama (spiritual practices)

Asana (seat posture with spine erect)

Pranayama (breath control)

Pratyahara (withdrawal of from the organs of sense and the organs of action)

Dharana (deep state of concentration)

Dhyana (directing attention to the subject of meditation)

Samadhi (complete absorption in super consciousness or divine mind)

Yoga works on the level of one's body, mind, emotion and energy. This has given rise to four broad classifications of Yoga:

Karma Yoga, where we utilize the body

Jnana Yoga, where we utilize the mind

Bhakti Yoga, where we utilize the emotion

Kriya Yoga, where we utilize the energy

Each system of Yoga we practice would fall within the gamut of one or more of these categories. Every individual is a unique combination of these four factors. Only a Guru(a teacher) can advocate the appropriate combination of the four fundamental paths, as is necessary for each seeker


Yoga is a 5,000-year-old physical, mental and spiritual practice having its origin in India, Which Aims to transform both body and mind. On December 11 in 2014, the United Nations General Assembly declared June 21 as the International Day of Yoga. The declaration came after the call for the adoption of 21 June as International Day of Yoga by Indian Prime Minister, Narendra Modi during his address to UN General Assembly on September 27, 2014 wherein he stated: "Yoga is an invaluable gift of India's ancient tradition. It embodies unity of mind and body; thought and action; restraint and fulfilment; harmony between man and nature; a holistic approach to health and well-being. It is not about exercise but to discover the sense of oneness with yourself, the world and the nature. " In Suggesting June 21, Which is the Summer Solstice, as the International Day of Yoga, Shri Narendra Modi Had That said, "the date is the longest day of the year in the Northern H emisphere and has special significance in many parts of the world. "